Quick Legal Facts
There is no general restriction as to unconcealed or openly carried knives.
At a Glance:
Knife law – in and of itself – does not exist in Wyoming. The noun “knife” does not appear in any of the “relevant statutes” listed below. The public carry of knives is not generally restricted in the state. Those statutes do mention and apply to “deadly weapons” as statutorily defined.
The statutory definition of a “deadly weapon” does not mention knives but does include an instrument “which in the manner it is used or is intended to be used is reasonably capable of producing death or serious bodily injury.”
Wyoming law provides that it is an offense to wear or carry a “concealed deadly weapon” unless one possesses a valid weapon permit or is otherwise eligible to hold a weapon permit. In general, persons at least 21 and not convicted of a violent crime or drug offense are eligible.
(iv) “Deadly weapon” means but is not limited to a firearm, explosive or incendiary material, motorized vehicle, an animal or other device, instrument, material or substance, which in the manner it is used or is intended to be used is reasonably capable of producing death or serious bodily injury;
6-5-209. Taking deadly weapons into jails, penal institutions, mental hospitals or courtrooms; penalties
6-8-103. Possession, manufacture or disposition of deadly weapon with unlawful intent; penalties
6-8-104. Wearing or carrying concealed weapons; penalties; exceptions; permits
6-8-401. Firearm, weapon and ammunition regulation and prohibition by state
21-3-132 Possession of firearms on school property (does not apply to knives).
There are no restricted or prohibited knives.
Knives are not generally deadly weapons. Concealed carry of a deadly weapon is not an issue for persons at least 21 and not ineligible to hold a weapon permit. (See discussion below.)
Restrictions on Sale or Transfer:
A person who knowingly possesses, manufactures, transports, repairs, or sells a deadly weapon with intent to unlawfully threaten the life or physical well-being of another or to commit an assault or inflict bodily injury on another is guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than five (5) years, a fine of not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000.00), or both. § 6-8-103.
Restrictions on Carry in Specific Locations/Circumstances:
There are “deadly weapons” restrictions for Court facilities, jails, mental health, and correctional facilities.
Yes, § 6-8-401 provides in pertinent part:
(c) The sale, transfer, purchase, delivery, taxation, manufacture, ownership, transportation, storage, use and possession of firearms, weapons and ammunition shall be authorized, regulated and prohibited by the state, and regulation thereof is preempted by the state. (underling supplied)
Concealed Carry Eligibility
Wyoming concealed carry statute, § 6-8-104 (a), exempts from the prohibition:
- ‘Peace Officers’,
- Persons holding a valid Wyoming weapon permit
- Persons holding a weapon permit issued by a governmental agency or another state with weapon permit reciprocity, or
- A person who does not hold a weapon permit but is otherwise eligible to hold a permit under Wyoming law.
The criteria for permit eligibility are set forth at § 6-8-104 (b). One must be a U.S. resident and a resident of Wyoming for at least 6 months. Accordingly, persons from another state visiting Wyoming or relocating to Wyoming are not exempted unless they hold a permit issued by another state.
Persons convicted of certain crimes or who have been the subject of legal intervention for drug or alcohol abuse are also ineligible.
A first-offense violation of § 6-8-104, the concealed carry statute, is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not more than $750 and/or confinement in a county jail for not more than 6 months.
Updated January 27, 2023, by Daniel C. Lawson