West Virginia bill allows for a “constitutional carry” of open or concealed knives (defined as a deadly weapon in WV)
Issue: Unlawful knives to carry concealed
Summary: Removes certain knives as unlawful to carry as deadly weapons unless person is under twenty one (21) years of age. Allows law-abiding persons in West Virginia age 21 years and older (who are not prohibited persons) to carry openly or concealed a “deadly weapon” without a government-issued permit. This includes knives previously defined as deadly weapons.
Status: Passed. West Virginia Legislature overruled Governor’s veto – Effective date June 2, 2016
Introduced by: Delegate Saira Blair (R-59) on January 19
Enrolled Bill Text: 2016 WV HB 4145 Enacted 3-5-16 will repeal §20-2-6a of the Code of West Virginia, 1931, as amended; to amend and reenact §61-7-3, §61-7-4, §61-7-6, §61-7-7 and §61-7-11a and add three new sections, designated §61-7-4a and §61-7-15a and §61-7-17.
West Virginians – Sign up as a Free Grassroots Supporter to receive email Action Alerts.
The West Virginia Legislature convened on January 13, 2016 and is expected to adjourn March 12, 2016. The Governor’s projected deadline is March 30, 2016.
Effective date of legislation: 90 days after passage by the Legislature.